What is growing up quiet like?

This is my friend, Rachel. We are still friends after all these years. And now, she talks to me. I always thought there was something wrong and I could never understand why she wouldn’t talk to me when we were younger. Everyone made fun of her because she didn’t talk … she only talked to my sister. Some things we never get to understand and other things it takes almost 40 years later to finally understand. I am reposting for others to read. This is a real issue we didn’t know about or understand back then. Hopefully sharing this information now, will help others that share the same issues or that grew up with the same fears.

What's Your Story?

As I look back on my childhood, I see a little girl who was different. A little girl who would play, laugh and enjoy a normal childhood, while at home with her family. A little girl who was quiet, reserved and unable to show emotion in the presence of non – family members.  My story begins at age five, on the first day of kindergarten. I walked into the classroom, and thought to myself, “I’m not going to talk today.” The next day, I walked in and thought, “I’m not going to talk to these people today, either.” I’m not sure how many days this continued but it got to the point where I just couldn’t bring myself to speak. The words wouldn’t come out.

I had two friends, Penny and Barbie, who were sisters. My mom would babysit them and we would play together. Penny was in my class and Barbie was a…

View original post 988 more words

One thought on “What is growing up quiet like?

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

