Prioritizing Time

 

Some people like to think their time is more important than other people’s time.  It happens to me a lot.  For example, I get phone calls, email, and text messages just the same as everyone else, probably not as often, but occasionally.  It bothers people when I don’t respond immediately.  Boo hoo!  I respond during the time I’ve scheduled myself to respond.  Just because I don’t leave the house to go to school, college, or work, my time is still just as important as anyone else’s time. Yes it is!

 

Do you ever feel that people think their time is more valuable than your time?  It happens to me so I’m sure it happens to others. People take advantage of my time when I let them and they will take advantage of your time too.  Because I’m home and they are at work, they seem to think that they can call me, email me, text me whenever they want and I am supposed to respond immediately.  They don’t answer me immediately.  Oh, but I should understand that it’s because “they have a job” or, “they are at school” or, “they don’t have as much time” as me.  Hmph!  They don’t have as much time?  Really? 

 

I’m sure you know what it is like to be in the middle of writing or editing “the world’s greatest novel” and a phone call interrupts your train of thought.  It’s not that easy to get back into the flow of things.  Instead of going back to your laptop, you decide, “Might as well do some chores, then get back to writing after.”  Clean the bathroom, wash a sink full of dirty dishes, fold a load of laundry, you know, menial things like that.  After an hour you sit back down at your desk to ease your mind back into writing or editing and ten minutes later, the phone rings again.  Damn it!

 

A couple days of this will drive a person completely insane!  You have to set boundaries with people.  People that write with jobs and school have their time scheduled for them.  People that don’t have scheduled time have to work twice as hard and twice as diligently to get the same results (or better) than people that have their time dictated to them. (My opinion)  Does that make sense or have I completely gone off my rocker and lost my mind? 

 

I guess the point I’m trying to make is your time is just as important as the other person’s time.  Don’t allow people to take advantage of it.  Everyone has the same amount of time in a day.  The only difference is how people prioritize what they do with their time.  Hope I didn’t take advantage of your important time sharing my thoughts! 

Cheerio-O!

 

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

