Change Something

change

Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.
Helen Keller (1880 – 1968)

Have you ever gone to a class reunion or hooked up with an old classmate on-line and have them say, “Wow, you haven’t changed a bit!”? I suppose that comment is good if they are referring to physical traits. Unless of course you were ugly as a mud fence, or fat as a beached whale, then that comment probably wouldn’t mean so much.

Sometimes people change and it is pointed out in a derogatory way. “You’re not the same fun-loving, easy-go-lucky person you used to be.” Maybe bad things happened and she grew into an old spinster or he got tired of the world and locked himself up in his house like a hermit. People have a hard time with change, but unfortunately in our lives change is inevitable.

The only thing that never changes is God and God’s word. Pastors will sometimes say it’s necessary to take God’s word in today’s context. It seems like they change things to accommodate their own short-comings. For example, I’ve heard pastors say, “God wants us to have nice things.” Or, “It is okay to have a mortgage and a credit card payment”. Really? I’ve never read, “I want you to have nice things.” Or “do not be in debt to anyone, except the mortgage company and the credit card company”. Nope, I’ve never seen that in the Bible anywhere. Too many people make God’s word accommodating to their own convenience.

Maybe it’s time to change the way we read God’s word. Read it in His context and they way He wrote it instead of changing it to profit ourselves. Change, my friend, is what makes this sad little place we call our world, go round. We’re here for a very short 70-80 years, but it’s enough time to make a change.

Charles H Spurgeon said it best when he said “I’m not who I’m supposed to be, I’m not who I’m going to be when I get to heaven, and Thank God, I’m not who I used to be.” Imagine how great the place we live in could be if every single person would make one positive change in the way we do things!

Change your undershorts

Change the way you think

Change the way you talk to others

Change your attitude about your situation

Change something, anything

What are you going to change today?

3 thoughts on “Change Something

  1. Great post! I always tell people that other people don’t change (the way they treat you) unless you stop letting them treat you that (insert appropriate adjective). My entire plan for 2013 involves changing the way certain people treat me, by changing how I react or respond to them – mainly by standing up to bullies and refusing to allow them to continue to treat me badly.
    The first thing I need to do went I want other people to change, is to change myself. And I do that, by (as you have so eloquently stated) taking God at his word – his word for me. And he never said, to let people walk all over me.

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

