Movement From the Nest

Previous Posting

DCIM100MEDIA                                  

June 7, 2013

Today was an interesting day. The male House Finch stayed close to the female most of the day. At one point I could hear loud singing and looked and it was him, he was in the second nest, singing to his spouse. This was so amazing. I didn’t realize what it meant at that time.

      DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

June 8, 2013

We were sitting on our porch having a break after a lot of yard work, lawn mowing, garden weeding, etc. The female was not on her nest for a long time. Suddenly she swooped in and we watched her as she fed babies. AMAZING! I couldn’t stop watching her. We looked in the nest and there was still one egg left to hatch.

DCIM100MEDIA

June 10, 2013

Today I saw the male come in and feed the babies. http://youtu.be/vQyY7P87m5E (click link for short video).   The mom is still sitting on the nest much of the day. I was able to get a picture but it doesn’t look like much of anything but furry skeletons to me. There wasn’t much movement when I looked. I suppose, like puppies, they sleep a lot while they are babies. I will keep updating until they fly the coop.

Next Posting

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

