Leave of Absence/Addiction

thCMSX0HPR

My computer caught a virus, a very bad virus.  I was left to write the old fashion way… by hand.  No posting, no social media, nothing.  There is nothing wrong with that.  What did people do before computers?  I’ve been journaling ever since I can remember.  But writing a novel without having the information highway at a fingertip’s click became somewhat of a chore.  (I’ll admit it, I was lazy.)

So, what did I do?  I found something else to occupy my fingertips. A game I downloaded on my cell phone.  It took up all of the time I had allotted for writing.  At first I didn’t admit that I had an addiction problem.  I thought I could stop anytime I wanted to. I was wrong.  The game began to take up more than just my writing time.  It got in the way of everything, including my marriage. There was a problem, but I didn’t want to admit it.

A new computer was purchased, yet the writing didn’t come back as easy as I thought it was going to.  I had been using that as an excuse.  The addiction was more than I thought.  After two and a half months I needed an intervention.  I prayed and God answered.  I admitted my problem to my husband and he said he would do whatever he could to help me.  This is the first thing I’ve written (other than journal entries, which are few and far between) since I deleted the game.  God willing, soon I’ll be back to novel-writing, old fashion letter writing, blogging, cooking, etc.  All the things I used to do before the game took over my life and started to destroy me.

I know some of you reading this will think I’m crazy. I remember what it was like when I quit smoking cigarettes.  Addiction is not limited to drugs and alcohol. I think quitting the game was harder than the cigarettes.  The pull is still there to reinstall the game and pick up where I left off.  All things are good in moderation.   All things can be bad if they are abused. Everything we do comes with a consequence.

I guess the point of this was to get back to writing something, anything.  If you have a problem, the first step into fixing the problem is admitting it.  I admit I’m not perfect and we never will be on this side of eternity.  As long as we keep short accounts with Him, our prayers will eventually be answered and God will see us through all of our trials.

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

