To Write or To Talk About it

Image

I just conversed with my editor regarding the manuscript.  Seems weird to me to have a publisher, and an editor.   Kind of makes my head swell just a little bit.  I remember all the creative writing assignments I did in Mr. McCutcheon’s class back at Hampden Academy.  All C’s.  Nothing more than a C+.  I still have most of them with his chicken scratched notes scrawled in red ink across the top of the front or back page.  I hated that man back then for grading me like that.  I thought my stuff was good!  Just recently I was told that “C’s earn degrees”. I don’t think he’s alive now.  I wish he was, so I could thank him for being part of my accomplishment.

Not sure what degrees earn, but those C’s he gave me back in high school didn’t discourage me.  I kept on writing.  I wrote short stories for kids with the Institute of Children’s Literature in the 80’s, I wrote short stories for Writer’s Digest and the University of Southern Maine creative writing courses I took in the 90’s. I wrote radio commercials for a station I worked for, repossession letters for a bank I worked for, letters for insurance companies and tax information for an accounting firm I worked for.  I wrote company newsletters, marketing templates, sales pitches, and the ever-so-not popular Christmas Newsletter for a direct mail company I worked for.

As the years passed I never really took the time to put the effort into marketing or selling the things I wrote.  I just put my effort into writing what made me happy. I created a blog with tons of recipes – oh yeah, I cook too. I motivated people to help me write a cookbook, and wrote all the marketing and sales promotions for our company’s business website.   All the while still wanting to do what I always wanted to do as a writer.

I wanted to write a novel.  That feeling of wanting to write has never left me since I started a diary in the sixth grade.  No matter how many times I tried to pre-occupy my mind with something else, that desire has remained.  In fact, I still have the totes upon totes of journals and notebooks that seem to take up more space every year.  Crackerberries was going to be the name of my first novel, my life story.  Then I decided it would be the name of a little farm stand where we could sell our pickles, relishes and jams that we make from our garden.  Somehow it became my brand, if you will.  I guess my life story will have to be called something else.

I’m here to tell you if you have a dream, if you want to write, if you have a goal, do not give up.  It is possible.  You can do it.  Don’t talk about doing it, don’t worry about people liking what you write.  If you like what you write, and it makes you happy, that’s half the goal.  Then comes the sweat and tears, but don’t worry.  Everything else will fall into place in due time.

Not sure when Blackhorse 2015 will be available.  It’s in the fine hands of my editor right now.  I’m excited, and I know there is much work to be done.  As soon I am able to share more about Blackhorse 2015, you’ll be the first to know.  As for now, I’m off to work on the next one.

Cheers!

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

