But I Wanted A Rose Garden

Image

As I think about this book publishing experience, it reminds me of a walk through a rose garden.  At the beginning everything is beautiful and smells delightful. I look around and wonder how anything could be any more perfect.  But then a little further in prickly thorns try to poke into my side.  After closer examination I notice these pesky aphids and beetles trying to eat my beautiful rose garden.

Writing a book is kind of like that.  In the beginning it’s all good. Especially when you find a publisher that accepts your manuscript.  That is the most awesome feeling ever!  Then, once you start down the road toward being published, you will run into thorns and pests that try to infect your progression.  It will be subtle things that take your attention away from what you should be doing. A lot of times these distractions go unnoticed until it’s too late.

Most people would like to believe it’s their family and friends who are going to support them. This is true in just about anything and everything we do: sing, paint, dance, act, or whatever our job might be.  In anything that brings accolades to ourselves we want our family and friends to applaud us. Unfortunately people are generally too busy with whatever it is in their own life to be concerned with what someone else is doing. Especially if it involves praising someone other than themselves. For some this can be like a pesky aphid.

I do have a few (I can count them on one hand, and you know who you are ☺) true supporters that want me to succeed. But most of my family and friends are not supportive, and are not eager to jump on the Crackerberries bandwagon.  For whatever reason, they are not going to ask how the book writing is going, if there’s anything they can do to help with research, or simply bring me a Coke and a smile.  If I count on that happening, I can just forget about it!

Too many people cannot get past the green eyed monster that lives inside all of us.  I may be stepping on some toes in saying what I believe.  I might lose some family and friends too.  But just like a rose garden infected with pests, sometimes the best thing we can do for our own sanity is to eliminate what’s not working.

I have found my biggest supporters are fellow writers.  These are the people I count on to pat me on the back, and tell me to keep on going. They are the people who know what I’m going through. I am not sure that they are going to be great followers for my book. But I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.  I do believe if we share with each other our trials and tribulations, we may get lucky enough to earn a fan or two.  Not sure, never been down this road before.  It’s all a new learning experience for me.

I have learned this.  Dwelling on getting support from family and friends that are too wrapped up in themselves is like a beetle infestation in a rose garden.  If you don’t get rid of them, they will destroy the beauty of the garden.

If you want to write, write.  Don’t let distractions get in your way.  Just do it, and do it, and do it.

One thought on “But I Wanted A Rose Garden

  1. Just read this! Great Writing! I want you to succeed and do well with this novel. If your family and friends don’t, it tells me they are jealous! Don’t worry about them. When you become rich and famous! They will come around fast enough! LOL! I am very proud of you and what you have accomplished in such a short time. So keep on writing! Love you, Barbie!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

