The Challenge

challenge

The Challenge

 We had fun watching everyone and their brother do the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge on Facebook and most of the news channels. Has it worn out yet? I think it made its way through all of my contacts. Some of the videos were hysterical to watch while others were sad and even scary. For a good cause, it was really too bad about the people who got hurt … or worse … in the challenge.

The new phase that has hit my group of friends that l I’m seeing is called The Grateful/Gratitude Challenge  www.gratitudechallenge.com  I really like the idea of the challenge because I believe the more grateful you are for what you have, the more content and happy you are inside. I don’t think it should be called a challenge though. I think it should be called The Gratitude Attitude. We should remind ourselves daily of the things we are thankful and grateful for and not do it just because we are tagged in a dare. Read The Purpose Driven Life (Rick Warren). It’s a great book that will help you while pondering on gratefulness and gratitude.

During our walk in the dark this morning, Tall Cool ne and I were discussing the challenges and the things we read that others do or say on Facebook. We as a people, all crave attention. We want to hear that atta-boy, good job, way-to-go. These auditions on Facebook made me think a little bit about that, and why we are all confronted with the same challenge.

Challenge: a summons that is often threatening, provocative, stimulating, or inciting; an invitation to compete in a sport; the act or process of provoking or testing physiological activity by exposure to an antigen.

After I read the definition of what a challenge is, I came to the conclusion that every day my life is a challenge. I read stimulating and provocative things on my computer every day, and sometimes I have a hard time restraining myself from commenting back at how stupid or ignorant people are. Every morning my husband plays the mean drill sergeant and at 4:40 AM we are out of the bed and stretching. Then we head out for our walk, which is down an uninhabited dirt road, in the dark, which I am extremely afraid of (the dark, not the road). Later in the day I wrestle with the elements of it being too hot or too cold because there is never a happy medium.

I know you think I’m joking about living a challenge every day. We all do. Each and every one of us have a challenge. It is different for each person. Some people do well in some areas where others wouldn’t do well at all. We can complain about it, or we can deal with it. It is all in perspective … the way that you look at things. I realize that my life is good. I am so thankful for the life I have. Every day I get to wake up and go for a walk and even though I joke about Tall Cool ☺ne being a drill sergeant, he is doing it for our good health. If you don’t have your health, nothing else really matters. There is something good in everything. Some days the challenge is finding it.

Sometimes I bitch about the things people email me or post on Facebook, but I have a choice. If I don’t like it, I don’t have to read it. We have a choice to be content or discontent. If we look at the negative side of things all the time, that will make us negative. Look at the glass half full. We have to practice euphemism.

So, with that said, that is my challenge for the rest of the year. Practicing euphemism: the substitution of an agreeable or inoffensive expression for one that may offend or suggest something unpleasant. And if anyone sees or reads me not doing it, speak up and remind me!  I implore you to do the same.

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

