Thanksgiving- Day 1— Thankful

thankful

Day #1: Seven Days of Thankful Thanksgiving

T is for thankful

Everyone has heard of the 12 Days of Christmas.  I thought I would do my version of Thanksgiving. I don’t have twelve days before Thanksgiving … so I’m going to improvise and do seven.

Thanksgiving:  the act of giving thanks; a prayer of gratitude to God.

The holiday season is here.  Everything is so festive decorated with pumpkins and turkeys (more like Christmas decorations).  I remember in grade school we used to pencil or crayon around our hand and fingers and then create a turkey out of it.  How fun!  This is the time of year when most people get into the giving mode and they are more generous than usual.  It is also the time of year when the non-profit organizations need help and donations as well. Unfortunately it is also a time where people seem to forget about being thankful and take too many things for granted.

I love this time of year. It is perfect for cooking pies, cookies, cakes, and filling the kitchen with the scents of cinnamon and cloves.  It is the time when Egg Nog and candy cane coffee creamer is on the store shelves, as well as all of that other festive yummy stuff only available during this time of year.  It is the time of year to dig out the wool sweaters, polar fleece, flannel P-jammies and big fluffy warm slippers.

T is for thankful, time to count our blessings and stop to think about some of the things we complain about.  I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately because I find myself grumbling. Mostly because of how ungrateful other people can be. But when I stop and think about what I’m peevish about I have to kick myself for being so absolutely self-absorbed and ridiculous.

For example, when we go to the grocery store to do our shopping, I am sickened by the prices that we have to pay.  Everything is so wicked expensive and I find us cutting back in more areas than I care to.  Then I realize we are blessed enough to have the means to go do groceries.  When I find areas where we can cut back, I realize we were spending money on pleasure items that we don’t really need like Egg Nog and candy cane coffee creamer.  I am thankful that we are able to buy the groceries needed to prepare the nutritious and delicious meals we get to eat.

I remember growing up I hated, absolutely hated mashed potatoes. (Yes, I know hate is a harsh word. Believe me when I tell you how much I HATED mashed potatoes.)  My mother would always tell me to quit complaining and eat them.  My stepfather wouldn’t let me leave the table until I did.  My mother would make some comment about how children in Ethiopia were starving.  It always amazed me that my sister never HAD to eat the liver on her plate, but I had to eat those damned mashed potatoes. I had no problem if my mother wanted to box up the mashed potatoes on my plate and send them to Ethiopia.

I grew up and had to purchase food with my own hard earned money.  I had kids of my own and saw food not be eaten and thrown away.  I finally understood what it meant about starving children in Ethiopia.  I think about the waste that gets thrown away everyday and I want to send potatoes to Ethiopia. (I really wish we could walk along the side of the road or go to a field and pick up free potatoes like we did when I was a kid living in Fryeburg.) By the way, my taste buds acquired a taste for mashed potatoes and I’m looking forward to them on my plate on Thanksgiving Day.

This morning when I took my shower I stood under the hot water a little longer than usual because I didn’t want to get out into the cold air. I was convicted writing this because there are so many countries that have no water and I wasted gallons by letting it run down the drain so I could prolong the inevitable cold air.

I have a feeling the Seven Days of Thanksgiving will be difficult and convicting.

T is for thankful and I am very thankful for the time God has given me here on this earth to make a difference and bring glory to Him.  What are you thankful for?

One thought on “Thanksgiving- Day 1— Thankful

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

