Thanksgiving – Day 2 – 10 Healthy Habits

health

H is for Healthy Habits

Day #2: Seven Days of Thankful Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving:  the act of giving thanks; a prayer of gratitude to God.

I am far from what you would call the poster child for “healthy”.  I’ve never been a size 6 (it just seems to me like a lot of women want to be a size 6) — maybe in the sixth grade I was but quite frankly I think that if I was a size 6 now I would look sickly.  I don’t consider myself fat, but I’m sure the powers that be in Hollywood or the rest of the world would call me just that.  Personally I like to refer to my curves as voluptuous.  When I dug out my winter wardrobe my voluptuous butt cheeks had a hard time squeezing into my voluminous jeans.  It has been a challenge to make a lifestyle change and adding exercise into our daily routine.

I can honestly say putting the extra pounds on is a lot easier and enjoyable than it is trying to take them off.  God’s word tells us that we reap what we sow in due season.  I was a Big Mac, large fry, diet coke, super-size, please, once a week kind of girl.  I remember hitting the salad bar thinking this was a good healthy choice as I loaded up my plate with cheese and ham and macaroni salad and all those other goodies you find on salad bars that are not actually salad items.  While I was hogging it into me I had no idea that the little butt cheeks were growing into bigger butt cheeks, or I should say, I refused to acknowledge that they would.

We know when we have that extra helping of mashed potatoes that we need to do a little extra work to burn the calories.  Look at the average kid today.  They are HUGE!  Yeah, you have some parents that will argue and say it’s a thyroid problem.  Most generally it has everything to do with laziness.  We live in a fast food and super sized kind of nation.  If your kid works on a farm and takes care of the animals a Happy Meal once in awhile isn’t going to make him fat — it might clog up his arteries in the long run, but how many kids are working the farm and taking care of animals?  Most kids have their butts plunked on a couch somewhere with a bag of Doritos playing a video game.  And the parents wonder why they have to pay more money for the extra-large size clothes and the kid is at risk for childhood diabetes.

Thanksgiving is definitely not a healthy holiday for me.  Too many temptations to deal with: egg nog, turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, squash soufflé, candied sweet potatoes, oyster casserole, stuffed mushrooms, bacon wrapped scallops, apple pie, pumpkin roll, pecan pie, oh YUM!  Even one bite of each of those goodies is way over a normal 2000 calorie plan.  It will be a struggle for sure and thank God for it only coming once a year.

Our health is important to all of us.  Some people take their health for granted.  If you don’t think it’s important ask someone who doesn’t have theirs. Ask someone who is sick.  It’s never too late to make a change for the better. To help with that, I’ve composed a list of ten healthy habits you can do every day that will help you live a healthier lifestyle.

TEN HEALTHY HABITS

  1. Be thankful for something every day.
  2. Do something productive every day. (Playing video games, watching TV, or surfing the internet does not count as being productive.)
  3. Say no to that second helping. (Serving sizes were created for a reason. Don’t be one who lives to eat, change that thought to ‘eat to live’.)
  4. Drink more water. An adult body is made up of about 70% water. Water does a body good.
  5. Set goals and don’t stop trying until you reach them.
  6. Get a hobby. (Again, playing video games, watching TV, and surfing the internet does not count as a hobby.)
  7. Learn something new. Discover a new recipe, go back to school, pick up knitting/crocheting, or visit a library. Never stop learning new things.
  8. Exercise more. Park in the farthest parking spot from the store, take the stairs, vacuum the whole house, or walk the dog instead of tying him out. Just move. Anything is better than nothing.
  9. Work on quitting a bad habit. Smoking, swearing, gossiping, chronic grumbling about things you cannot change, etc.
  10. Be happy. Be content with what you have because there is always someone out there that is much worse off than you are.

What change can you make to your lifestyle to be more healthy?

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

