New Year Resolution

New Year Resolution

calvinandhobbes

Happy New Year! Someone told me once you could say Happy New Year for the whole month of January. I figured I better get my greeting in before the end of the month. Is everyone still sticking to their New Year’s Resolutions? Or, have they fallen by the wayside?

I’ve been doing a Bible Study, and this morning I read something that convicted me. I recently agreed to participate in this ‘Pay it Forward’ network thing on Facebook. The sad part for me, (and granted my patience probably isn’t what it should be) is the fact that I don’t have five friends agreeing to take part in the connection of kindness with me. It’s okay, I’m going to move forward with the four who did agree.

But as I pondered on that thought, I realize that I rarely celebrate with the “friends” I have on Facebook who have good news in their life. I see post after post about the things they are accomplishing and sharing with everyone, yet I’m reluctant to “LIKE” or comment on them.  We all want to matter. We all want to be significant and important. We want people to notice what we are doing. These desires are innate. It is how we were made. Recently I haven’t posted anything about my accomplishments because I think people are going to think the same as I do. “Who cares?”

I know, shallow, huh?

Then I read Romans 12:15-16 Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be haughty, but associate with the lowly. Never be wise in own your own sight.”

When we claim the name of Christianity we are to carry ourselves in a manner that brings glory to God. I’m not saying we need to throw His name in everything we do (like some people do). We don’t have to talk about it, we just have to show it. He knows our hearts, and He knows why we do what we do, and He knows He’s the reason we are able to do the things we do. Some people are so busy trying to convince everyone else that Jesus is the reason they do what they do. In most circumstances nobody cares. And Jesus already knows. So it makes me wonder who they are trying to convince.  Themselves?

I realize social media is not a good supplement for true friendships and fellowship with live human beings. But for some people that’s all they have. In the new age of social virtual life, we need to be more cognizant in our virtual friendships. We should rejoice when they rejoice, weep when they weep. We should make it a point to be a caring and compassionate friend for those in need. 

With that being said, I’m taking the ‘Pay it Forward’ kindness act one step further. I implore you to think of someone who has recently had good news in their life. Now think of a creative way to go all out to celebrate that good news with them. How does that make you feel? Write about it and share this on your own blog.

One thought on “New Year Resolution

  1. Pingback: New Year Resolution | Christians Anonymous

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

