Asking for Help

help

So I’ve decided to try something new. I’ve never actually done this before so it will be a new experience for me. Next week my husband begins a new adventure and will on a four-week course. (That’s all I’m going to say about it because this is not about him, although feel free to pray for Gods will to be done for him while he is on this life changing course.)

While he is completing his goal, I have one myself that I want to complete. I want to finish my novel The Salt-Water Killings, and I need your help. In the midst of completing my novel, I’ve also signed up for the Blogging A-Z challenge, which is writing a blog on a daily basis for the month of April. There is still time to sign up if you haven’t.  OH and I’m a little bit of a twit on that note, because when I signed up I did it twice. (Pay attention to the instructions!) The first time I forgot to add the code at the end so people would know what my blog is about. I meant to put in WR for writing and storytelling, but somehow I got AC for adult content. I should apologize here because there will be no adult content unless you consider an occasional swear word adult content. Sorry for the confusion. And let’s not forget to mention my daily chores and tasks that go along with keeping a household in order that need to be completed.

My sister once said, “Your need for attention has no limit.” She is correct, it has no limit. The only thing that makes me different from ninety percent of the rest of the world is I can admit it. We all want and crave attention.

Why do we have Facebook? Don’t give me that horse shit answer “to stay in touch with distant relatives.” Write a letter! The reason people have Facebook is because they want to be in everybody’s face to tell them what is important in their life. Why do we blog? To share our opinions. Why do we write books? Because we have so much inside us if we don’t write it, it will make us explode.

For the next four weeks I need your help. I need support and encouragement. I want people to ask me how I’m doing. “How many words did you write today?” and “How many chapters were you able to edit?” or “Did you get that chapter tweaked that needed to be changed?” I want people to encourage me every single day. “Hey, I have a great idea for the letter ‘G’ if you don’t have a topic.” Even just a simple, “Hope your book editing is going good today.”

It is so true that writing is a sad and lonely career. Too many people think it’s a hobby. Trust me, if I were choosing a hobby, it wouldn’t be sitting around pulling my hair out trying to come up with just the right words to tell a story so that it is meaningful and interesting. I’d be socializing and drinking and playing golf at some fancy-schmancy country club.

So help me out, help me reach my goal by being encouraging, motivational, supportive. You might even pray for me if you are so inclined. I know it is a lot to ask of people because you have your own lives and your own goals and desires. But I figured I might as well ask. The worst thing that can happen is nothing happens and I go it alone, just like I always have.

One thought on “Asking for Help

  1. Hi Barbie, I do support you every day whether I write it or not. You have written a lot of wonderful posts.  I read most of them.  I loved your canning book( still  cant open it ), and a lot of your short stories. So keep up the good work and  don’t worry if I don’t write everyday. Love you, Berta

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

