Expectations

Expectations

Expectation: the act or state of anticipating or looking forward to the coming occurrence; the act of considering something about to happen probable or certain.

 

I confess, my expectations are set really high. I expect more from people than they usually deliver. Why? Because I expect people to act and perform like I do. My standards are high and people know what to expect from me. I used to think I was being taken advantage of because people just assumed I would do something a certain way. I’ve recently come to realize, it’s not being taken advantage of, it’s a set of expectations that people have of me, and they know I will deliver in a certain way.

 

I often refer to that old saying, treat others as you wish to be treated. The only problem with that saying is I expect others to reciprocate in a certain way. When they don’t, it upsets me. It is a hard lesson that I am still learning. I cannot control their actions or reactions, I can barely control my own.  I thought about lowering my expectations of others, but then I would become like them. I want to be different. I want my expectations to be different than what everyone else expects. Therefore, my expectations will continue to be high, and I will learn to deal with the failure of those who do not live up to my standards.

 

I know that sounds superior and arrogant. I don’t mean for it to come across that way at all. I’m really not supercilious. I have a hard time dealing with people who don’t value a high set of hopes. That is the only way I can justify their weakness in not living up to my high expectation standards. Everyone should have hopes, dreams and expectations. Without them, what do you have to look forward to?

 

Dream high, hope big, and expect the best out of everyone.

E[1]

Be sure to check out some of the other A-Z Blogs.

One thought on “Expectations

  1. My philosophy is similar to yours. I spent a good many of my working years in management and when I wasn’t manager I soon worked up to that position due to my personal expectations of excellence in self and my influence on others to produce. I’ve found that a good many people just get by with what they need to or can get away with doing, collect their paycheck, and look forward to their time off. My eye has always been on my reputation and what the future holds for me.

    Your advice and observations are excellent and true.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    A Faraway View

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

