Journaling

Journal1

What a great day for J. Saturday is always my favorite journaling day. I get up early in the morning, before the sun even has time to think about rising its sleepy head over the horizon. I prepare a full pot of coffee, feed the cats, and make myself comfortable in my favorite chair. I’ve been journaling ever since I can remember. A lot of my journals from when I was young were destroyed in fire, but I have the last thirty years or more. In the beginning I wasn’t always faithful to write every day. Some entries are months apart. But I find it quite thought-provoking reading through old journals.

 

What I find most interesting about my journaling is how much I’ve changed over the years. I would imagine this is probably true with anyone who journals. Years cause us to mature and hopefully grow spiritually as well as intelligent. The things that were important to me thirty or more years ago, are quite different now. My attitude has changed tremendously over the years. Some things I prefer not to read, but others make me laugh when I remember them.

 

It is important for people who like to write to keep a journal. It’s a place where you can keep private thoughts and ideas. It’s a place to vent and reduce tension and stress. It’s a place to share your innermost secrets and desires. It’s a place to learn about yourself, your dreams, your goals, your desires. It’s a place to record everything that you don’t want to forget.

 

Here are some proven benefits of journaling.

  • Improves penmanship
  • Solves problems — when you take the time to write them down you can see things more clearly and come up with a solution.
  • Practice patience.
  • Keep goals.
  • Log ideas for new articles, stories, etc.
  • Lists of things that need to be done that you wish not to forget.
  • Relieves stress.

 

So what are you waiting for? Break out a new book and get journaling.

 

Be sure to take a few minutes and read some of the other great J bloggers. They could be J-walkers, you never know.

J

8 thoughts on “Journaling

  1. I kept a journal for years and years and years–I have like ten years worth of them sitting in the back of my closet. And then I just…stopped. I don’t know why. I need to get back into it. I think it would be helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: I’m Going to Journal…Again | Pride in Madness

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

