Expectation Earned

expectation

Expectation: the act or state of anticipating or looking forward to the coming occurrence; the act of considering something about to happen probable or certain.

I confess, my expectations are set really high. I expect more from people than they usually deliver. Why? Because I expect people to act and perform the same as me. My standards are high and people know what to expect from me. I used to think I was being taken advantage of because people just assumed I would do something a certain way. I’ve come to realize, it’s not being taken advantage of. I’ve earned expectations from certain people and they know I will deliver.

I often refer to that old saying, treat others as you wish to be treated. The only problem with that saying is I expect others to reciprocate in a certain way. When they don’t, it upsets me. I cannot control their actions or reactions, I can barely control my own. My expectations will continue to be high and I will learn to accept the failures of those who do not live up to my standards. Change what you can and accept what you can’t, am I right?

I know that sounds superior and arrogant. I don’t mean for it to come across that way at all. Everyone should have hopes, dreams and expectations. Without them, what do you have to look forward to? Dream high, hope a lot, and be prepared for mediocrity out of most people.

E

6 thoughts on “Expectation Earned

  1. It’s quite natural to set expectations but I learned that the only person one should set expectations for is oneself. After I’d learned that lesson, I was a much happier person. I accept people for who they are – failings and all – and just go with the flow (naturally I do have my flare ups on occasion) if things don’t go as planned. Remember that we are not able to change other people, we can only change ourselves. Great post and so thought provoking. Thank you for sharing. Have a super day.

    Like

  2. I think you are right (your last statement) and it’s sad. But people can change, and they need role models and motivation to do better than mediocre.. When you set the bar high, you never know who you might inspire. Keep spreading the idea… Good post. @DietzShirley from I Just Have to Say

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

