A Friend

friend

I really did not want to use Friend for the F challenge. But it’s the one F word that keeps coming back to me. In my humble opinion too many people will use the word “friend” without knowing the true meaning of what being a friend is.

“I have four hundred and seventy-six friends on Facebook.”

I don’t but some people probably do. A friend is a person whom one knows well and is fond of. Friendships are not easy and they are not to be taken lightly. If you have accepted the challenge to be a friend you might as well give in to the fact that it is going to be hard work. You need to reach out to be a friend to that person more than they reach out to you.  It’s not just when it’s convenient or to celebrate something. It’s all the time.

I hate Facebook although I partake. It seems like people think  “oh if you want to know what’s going on with me, just look at my Facebook”. I suppose that is the new age wave, and I’m getting old, and I’ll deal with it in my own time.

For now I will still share my opinion and shoot off at the mouth. Friendships are not easy, it takes hard work from both participants. Not just fair-weathered, and not just when there is a need for something. Friendship is four seasons. If you have a good friend… tell them how much they mean to you and how special they are. I can tell you it sure does mean a lot to me when I hear from my four friends.

This term friend I have to ponder
In my mind I let it wander
It’s the unexpected places
In unpredicted faces
Where one will saunter
And a friend that we will find

When I was young
And in grade school
One friend I had
And thought was cool.

But then I disapproved
Around the time of junior high
With her parents she did move
We cried and had to say good-bye.

Another friend came along
And took the place of she,
But it wouldn’t be too long
Before I would finally see
That her motives were all wrong
And she wasn’t really a friend to me.

She used me for her personal gain
And took my friendship all in vain
Someone else had more than me
So she moved up in society

One more friend I gave my heart
Everything clicked right from the start
But we were young it wasn’t right
She upped and left, gone one night

A lesson hard, a lesson learned
Then in a job a friend I earned
This friend who said that I could trust
Shame on me it was all for lust

Dismissed was I and he moved on
The friends I had were now all gone
Another job I did pursue
Working hard without issue

A different job, more so-called friends
Staying late to make amends
It all worked out for a while
But then my friends were in denial

They drained my heart and ate my soul
Cleaned my thoughts just like a bowl
I had to leave and get away
Who needs a friend anyway?

We all need friends
To help us grow
And feel complete
In all we know
If you have a friend
You deeply adore
Tell them once
Then tell them some more.

The Challenge

F

3 thoughts on “A Friend

  1. What a fantastic post. So pleased you wrote about friendship. It is so important to nurture friendships. Your poem was delightful. Thank you!!

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

