Gizzard & Guts

Gizzard & Guts

I thought this would be an appropriate title for today’s post. Please accept this shout out to all of my fellow bloggers who are partaking in this challenge. We as writers use our gizzard to grind our ideas, our thoughts and ponderings. We take to heart what other people say, or worse, what people don’t say about our offerings. It takes guts to share with the world what we think or don’t think. Everyone has an opinion and more people are quick to tell you what they think about your opinion, yet they have not shared one of their own.

This is the second year in the A-Z Challenge and I love it. I love reading my fellow writers posts and being a part of this community. Sometimes I forget to leave a comment (I know that’s part of the challenge so let me apologize for reading without commenting).

When I first started putting my thoughts and ideas out for others to read it was very hard to take the criticism. Most of the criticism came from people I knew and it hurt deeply. Too many times I wanted to give up and delete all of my pages, blogs, etc. But every time I came to the moment of “are you sure you want to delete?”,  a comment would show up thanking me for the inspiration or the laugh or the encouragement. It would change my mind and I would continue sharing my thoughts and ideas. You see writing for me is like therapy. I have to do it. It isn’t so much sharing but the physical act of writing is something necessary to my spiritual being. If I can help someone or encourage someone, I tag that as a bonus.

When I published my first book, I was so excited and I thought I’m going be the next Stephen King. Ha ha ha. Too funny seeing how it’s not even the same genre. But dreams are good and that was my ultimate goal: to get published. For a spell, I misinterpreted getting published with getting rich and getting famous. I was quickly elucidated as to what the difference was. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very proud of my accomplishments with the books even though they don’t make any money. That wasn’t the point… the point was having a goal and achieving it. Not to mention everything I learned in the research of writing them.

These blog posts are entertainment for me and my readers. I enjoy what I do and I will continue to do it as long as I come up with ideas. I hope you will continue to do so as well, be it writing, reading or whatever your goal may be. If you work hard enough at it, you can achieve it. It just takes a little Gizzard and Guts.

The Challenge

G

10 thoughts on “Gizzard & Guts

  1. Don’t ever stop writing Barbie! I love all your posts! And yes sometimes I forget to comment! You have done great with your challenge! Looking forward to your next one!! Love you!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cute pic of the chickens – the black one looks just like my Goku (he prefers catching pigeons to the crickets I feed him in the winter). Writers are in a constant state of flux – it takes guts to share what the Muse has wrought. Keep sharing 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the AtoZchallenge.

    Like

  3. Hi. Boy, am I glad I clicked on cracherberries on the A to Z list today. Being a first timer here, I didn’t know what to expect. I almost expected a step by step guide to killing a chicken. Then this: “We as writers use our gizzard to grind our ideas.” and I was hooked. This is my first A to Z challenge. My guts are feeling it. My entry for F had me doubting if I should’ve. Now I know, I should have.THANK you.

    Like

  4. I love the post and the chickens! Writing is much more than seeing a book on a shelf, though I suppose we all strive for that. I know I do. Good luck with your journey.

    Like

  5. I know what you mean about rethinking success in the writing game! I used to think that all that was out there was the limited selection that appears in any given bookstore. Don’t get me wrong, I love a bookstore, but there is so much more out there. I was getting terribly frustrated that I wasn’t finding an agent and that what I was hearing from the agents who did respond what that my writing was good, it just didn’t fit the trend…. thankfully, I rethought my idea of my own writing and learned out to see what it was that I do and where that fits and now I feel like I’m on the right track. What’s they saying… there’s more than one way to skin a cat…. (don’t tell my cat I said that!)

    Liked by 1 person

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

