Reflections on Reality and Relationships

djdustu

Hello fellow bloggers, writers, and readers. Today as I sit down to write my daily challenge I’m facing the same sort of nearing the end of the journey roadblock jitters that I confronted last year at this time. I don’t want the challenge to end because I feel like I won’t be inspired enough to make myself write daily. Time to face reality and accept the fact that this challenge was just a jumpstart to a life style change. Kind of like dieting. Ha, no such thing. If you want it to work, it’s not a diet. It is a lifestyle change. That is what real writing, blogging, reading is. That’s what real relationships are. A lifestyle change.

As I reflect on my past posts, I see pride, embarrassment, shame, sadness, humor, spiritual growth. I think about relationships I’ve had and lost over the years. I’d like to take the blame for the failed relationships, but the truth of the matter is, they dissolved because I’m not one to sugarcoat the truth. I say it like it is and I say what I mean and mean what I say. I’ve persevered through ridicule, humiliation, hate and discontent, yet I’m still here blogging away. Why? Because it makes me happy to write. Because I get satisfaction when someone recognizes and shares in the same trials of pain or happiness that I have.

Reflecting on relationships for me always brings regret into consideration. I often wonder why so many relationships have failed. I’ve tried reconciliation with many relationships to no avail. What recourse should I take when the reaction to my request is not what I expect?

Relationships come and go throughout our lives. People we meet at church, in the neighborhood, people we’ve known all of our lives. The one thing that I can honestly say about any relationship is they are work. They don’t just flourish without care and consideration. Family relationships are the hardest because they are always there no matter what. Those are the ones that get hurt the most because we tend to think that very thing “they are always there no matter what”. One day they won’t be there. Don’t take any relationship no matter how trivial, for granted. If there is someone out there that you appreciate and are thankful for them coming into your life, thank them, let them know.

I’d like to say thank you to each and every one of my readers, followers, and fellow bloggers. It’s hard out here sometimes. Yet you persevere. You keep on keeping on. I appreciate you and your devotion. Have a great day and see you tomorrow!

R

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Reality and Relationships

  1. Being plainspoken is a double-edged sword. My husband is fond of this philosophy, so I can see both sides. The way I see it, you never have to wonder what plainspeaking folks think about you. And most people I know who consider themselves straight shooters take pride in it. They consider those who soften their words or conceal their less-than-positive opinions as false, or cowardly, rather than viewing this strategy as gestures of consideration or politeness. Potato, poTAHto. But here’s the thing: if you choose to speak your mind, you have to accept that there will be consequences. If you speak your mind, and someone is probably going to get their tail in a knot over it. I don’t mean this as a threat. It’s just the way things are. So you can’t have it both ways, unfortunately (speaking your mind and keeping all of your friends). I read somewhere once that honesty was overrated when it comes to being plainspoken. It’s important to ask yourself who will benefit from your candor: the person you are telling, or you?

    Liked by 1 person

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

