Listen

 

“God gave us two ears and one mouth so that we ought to listen twice as much as we speak.”

~Irish Proverb~

Successful customer service begins with the two things planted on either side of the head. Listening. Listen to what the customer has to say. Thoughtful attention is key to a customer’s satisfaction.

We all want to be heard. Customer service representatives want to share their infinite knowledge on everything they know about the policies of the company they work for. They want to explain why the customer can’t have what it is he wants. In most cases, it is best to close mouth, open ears, and hear what the customer is saying. Sometimes all they want is to be heard.

The next time a customer comes with a problem, before jumping in to solve it, take the time to listen and understand why there is a problem in the first place.

Footnote: This year I decided to go with the A-Z of Customer Service. I’ve complained too long that customer service isn’t what it should be. Tell me God doesn’t have a sense of humor. He put me in a position make a difference in what I think customer service is and should be. This month I will share with you what I’ve learned about successful customer service. Hope you enjoy the ride.

3 thoughts on “Listen

  1. I love that first quote, about people listening (or not listening) with the intent to reply rather than to understand- because I feel it describes so well what is wrong with some annoying conversations. Identifying that as the problem has allowed me to walk away when I see it is pointless to keep ‘debating’ because the other person doesn’t want to listen to understand

    My A to Z:
    too late smart

    Like

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

