Validation, Verification and Versatility

In the world of customer service satisfaction we must validate the authenticity of the customer’s claim. There are people out there who are not honest and will make things up to get something that is not warranted. Truly unfortunate for those customers who abide the rules and regulations, but in customer satisfaction, validating a complaint is necessary.

Verification must also come into play. Did the customer complete the terms of the agreement? “I bought this at your store yesterday, I don’t have my receipt, it doesn’t have the original packaging or the price tag on it, but I want my money back because I decided I don’t like it.” Really? Well get in line because the people in hell are still waiting for ice water

In our world of dishonest people the three V’s of customer service are part of the longevity of a company. Versatility is a key characteristics of a successful customer service department. Quality customer service agents know how to switch hats and roles quickly and effectively to help each customer with their specific need or desire.

How does your company battle the vicious cycle of verification, validation and versatility to come out victorious in providing customer satisfaction?

Footnote: This year I decided to go with the A-Z of Customer Service. I’ve complained too long that customer service isn’t what it should be. Tell me God doesn’t have a sense of humor. He put me in a position make a difference in what I think customer service is and should be. This month I will share with you what I’ve learned about successful customer service. Hope you enjoy the ride.

Please take a moment to tell me what you think.

